Skip to main content

Nursing

Database Access

Please see these instructions about accessing the NFCC databases. If you are unable to log in to the databases, please contact the library by phone (850-973-1624) or send an email to library@nfcc.edu

More Nursing Databases

See a complete list of ALL the NFCC Library databases to find journal articles, magazine articles and newspaper articles.

- You can view the databases by Subject if you need help deciding which databases to use.
Example:

- You can view the databases Alphabetically if you know which database you want to use. Click on the blue circled i to find out what types of information a database contains.
Example:

CINAHL Database Tutorial

- This tutorial will show you how to search the CINAHL Complete database to find articles on the topic of asthma in children. Typing this phrase into the first search box produces over 5100 results.

Example:


- The high number of results indicates that this topic is too big and needs to be narrowed down. The left column of the database contains many different ways of narrowing the topic and the number of results.  

Example:


- First, we will find a way to narrow the topic to some specific aspect of the main topic of asthma in children. The Subject: Major Heading section (located in the left column) is particularly helpful in finding ideas on which to focus your topic. Here's an example of some of the options located in Subject: Major Heading when you click on Show More. The "Hit Count" will show you how many articles correspond with each subject heading term.

Example:


- We will narrow the topic by selecting environmental exposure as a more specific aspect of the main topic of asthma in children. This reduces our search results from 5181 down to 155. 

Example:


Next, we want to limit the search to Full Text articles because these are the only articles that are available to access and read in the database. Click on the box next to Full Text. This brings our search results down to 59.

Example:


- In the nursing field, it is usually a good idea to limit your search results to articles published more recently. In this example we will set the earliest publication date to 2010. This brings our search results to 24.

Example:
     


- Finally, we want to limit the search to Academic Journals because these are the type of sources that are appropriate for college-level and professional research. Magazines are not considered scholarly sources of information. Click the box next to Academic Journals, and this brings our search result total down to 22.

Example:


- Clicking on the title of an article will show more information about the article. 
Example:


 - To access an article, click on the PDF Full Text link on the left side of the page.
Example:

 


- This is what the article looks like when opened via the PDF link. Use the links in the left column to navigate to sections of the article. Scroll down to read the complete article. 

Example:


- The easiest way to save an article (with the citation) is to email it to yourself. Once you have opened the PDF Full Text link to the article, find the icons on the right side of the screen. Click on the icon that looks like a white envelope to email the article.
Example:


- Fill in your email address. Make sure you click on the button next to "Citation Format" and select APA.

Example: