Skip to main content

Research Guide

How to do research for an academic paper

How to do a Database Search

- Search the Library databases to find journal articles, magazine articles and newspaper articles. 

- You will be asked to Log In with your Borrower ID and Password/PIN. 
(If you are not sure how to log in, please refer to these instructions.)


- You can view the databases by Subject if you need help figuring out which databases to use.
Example:


- You can view the databases Alphabetically if you know which database you want to use. Click on the blue circled i to find out what types of information a database contains.
Example:


- For this example we will use Academic Search Complete and perform a search for "social media" and privacy and "United States". We get back 171 search results.
Example:


- We will narrow the results down by selecting Full Text and Academic Journals. Full text articles are ones that are available to read from the database, and academic journals are the most appropriate for college-level research.
Example:

 


- Now we have 46 search results.
Example:
     


- Clicking on the title of the article will show bibliographic information about the article. This is where you can find Subject Terms.
Example:


 - To access an article, clink on the PDF Full Text link.
Example:

 


- The easiest way to save an article (with the citation) is to email it to yourself. Once you have opened the PDF Full Text link to the article, find the icons on the right side of the screen. Click on the icon that looks like a white envelope to email the article.
Example:


- Fill in your email address. Make sure you click on the button next to "Citation Format" and select the correct format (usually either MLA or APA).
Example: